simple hit counter

SA20 Player Auction: Where To Watch, Timings, Teams, Players To Be Won, Total Purse, The IPL Connection

Founded by Cricket South Africa (CSA), the South Africa T20 League is a six-team tournament set to be played in 2023.

A host of international and local T20 stars will be in action as South Africa looks to launch its own global T20 league. Cricket South Africa President and former captain Graeme Smith has been appointed League Commissioner.

Ahead of the SA20 auction, here’s everything you need to know about the South Africa T20 League:



What does the SA20 League schedule look like?

The tournament consists of 33 games. All teams play each other twice – on a home and away basis – followed by two semi-finals and the final. The schedule of the day has not yet been announced.

How will the teams be composed and how much budget do all teams have?

Franchises can sign seven foreign players and ten South Africans in a 17-man squad. There may only be four foreign players in the Playing XI. 533 players come under the hammer, including 248 South Africans.

West India internationals Jayden Seales and Odean Smith are part of the player pool with the highest base prize of R1,750,000 (approx. US$100,000). The next category, with a base price of R1,700,000 (approx. $97,000), includes star T20 players such as Eoin Morgan, Jason Roy, Tymal Mills and David Willey, among others. Fifty-two players make up the pool with the lowest base price of Rand 850,000 (approx. $48,000), including star Proteas players such as Dean Elgar, Tabraiz Shamsi and Lungi Ngidi.

The franchises have combined assets of $2 million.

When and where does the SA20 auction take place?

The auction will take place on September 19th at the Cape Town International Convention Center in Cape Town, South Africa.

When does the SA20 auction start?

The auction begins at 2:00 p.m. local time, 5:30 p.m. IST.

Details of TV shows and live streaming

The SA20 auction will be streamed live on the SA20 YouTube channel. The SA20 will be played in South Africa in January 2023. You can also follow the auction on Sports18-1 SD & HD.

What are the six teams and who are the owners of the South Africa T20 League franchises?

The six teams in the inaugural South Africa T20 League are owned by the Indian Premier League (IPL) franchisees.

  • ⦿Team: MI Cape Town; city – Cape Town, Western Cape; Stadion – Newlands cricket ground; Owner: Reliance Industries Limited (IPL – Mumbai Indians)
  • ⦿Team: Johannesburg Super Kings; city – Johannesburg, Gauteng; Stadion – Wanderers Stadium; Owner: Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited (IPL – Chennai Super Kings)
  • ⦿Team: pair of royals; city – Parl, Western Cape; Stadion – Boland Park; Owner: Royals Sports Group (IPL – Rajasthan Royals)
  • ⦿Team: Pretoria Capitals; city -Pretoria, Gauteng; Stadion – Centurion Park; Owner: JSW Sports (IPL – Delhi Capitals)
  • ⦿Team: Sunrisers Eastern Cape; city – Gqeberha, Eastern Cape; Stadion – St George’s Park cricket ground; Owner: Sun TV Network Limited (IPL – Sunrisers Hyderabad)
  • ⦿Team:Team name to be announced*; city – Durban, KwaZulu Natal; Stadion – Kingsmead cricket ground; Owner: RPSG Sports Private Limited (IPL – Lucknow Super Giants)

What is the CSA T20 League 2023 Player Signing (Auction/Draft) system?

While the CSA T20 League is expected to clash with another marquee T20 league in the United Arab Emirates in January-February 2023, the CSA has already garnered the support of several international T20 stars.

According to a statement from Cricket South Africa on 11 August 2022: “Over 30 international marquee players have already been signed by the league, with the number set to increase as players take part in the auction which takes place over the next few weeks. This is in addition to any contracted Proteas and domestic players committed to the league.”

The squad and player signing system is as follows:

  • ⦿
    All six franchises can have up to 17 players on their roster.
  • ⦿
    Teams can sign a maximum of five players – three internationals, one South Africa international and one local player without an international cap – ahead of the extensive player signing process.
  • ⦿
    For the CSA T20 League there will be an auction system instead of a draft. This makes the CSA T20 League only the second major T20 franchise tournament to hold a player signing auction system, following the IPL.

Which players were signed before the auction in the CSA T20 League?

  • ⦿
    MI Cape Town – Kagiso Rabada, Rashid Khan, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Dewald Brevis
  • ⦿
    Paarl Royals – Jos Buttler, David Miller, Obed McCoy, Corbin Bosch
  • ⦿
    RPSG Durban Franchise – Jason Holder, Quinton de Kock, Reece Topley, Kyle Mayers, Prenelan Subrayan
  • ⦿
    Pretoria Capitals – Anrich Nortje, Migael Pretorius
  • ⦿
    Johannesburg Super Kings – Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Maheesh Theekshana, Gerald Coetzee, Romario Shepherd
  • ⦿
    Sunrisers Eastern Cape – Aiden Markram, Ottneil Baartman

When does the CSA T20 League 2023 start?

While a formal announcement of the dates is expected shortly, League Commissioner Smith has confirmed that a January-February 2023 window has been marked for launch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *